Athletics

Eagle Academy Athletics

The Eagle Academy for Young Men boasts successful long-established programs in basketball and wrestling, alongside a developing baseball program introduced in 2016. All high school Eagle teams are part of the Public School Athletic League, with the middle school teams participating in various other leagues.

High School and PSAL

Note: all PSAL athletes in high-risk sports (including basketball and wrestling) must be fully vaccinated for COVID-19 by November 1.

Varsity Wrestling

Schedule/Results/Roster

Coach information

John McGarry
JMcGarry4@schools.nyc.gov

Jonathan Khoury
JKhoury4@schools.nyc.gov

Varsity Basketball

Schedule/Results/Roster

Coach Information

Roosevelt Byers
RByers2@schools.nyc.gov

Steven Leonard
SLeonard2@schools.nyc.gov

J.V. Basketball

Schedule/Results/Roster

Coach Information

Yusef Graves
YGravesJr.2@schools.nyc.gov

Jason Bissonnette
JBissonnette@schools.nyc.gov

Varsity Baseball

Schedule/Results/Roster

Coach Information

Jason Bissonnette
JBissonnette@schools.nyc.gov

Requirements for Participation

Physicals

All high school students must have a PSAL physical completed in order to try-out, practice, or compete. Copies of non-PSAL physical forms will not be accepted. See your coach for a copy of the PSAL physical. There are zero exceptions to this policy. Middle school students do not need a PSAL physical, but the league for the sport may require a generic physical from a physician.

Attendance

Scholar-athletes must maintain a 90% attendance rate, in all classes.

Academics

Scholar-athletes must maintain a 75% average for participation. Any average under 75% requires an appeal from the coach, but can not be lower than 65%. Failing physical education is an automatic disqualification from participation, and there are zero exceptions to this policy.


All of our high school athletics programs are part of the Public School Athletic League (PSAL).

Middle School Athletics

MS Wrestling

Beat the Streets

Coach information

John McGarry
JMcGarry4@schools.nyc.gov

Jonathan Khoury
JKhoury4@schools.nyc.gov

MS Basketball

NYC Middle School Athletic League

Coach Information

Anthony Brown
ABrown12@schools.nyc.gov

Wilfred Cadiz
WCadiz@schools.nyc.gov

MS Baseball

NYC Middle School Athletic League

Coach Information

TBD